Hibiscus in Light and in Dark

Texture of the Hibiscus

Texture of the Hibiscus

Once a week, I document the gardens for one of the curators at the Denver Botanic Gardens. The purpose is to keep track of what is growing, dying, blooming, fading, filling in, and so on. Each morning before 7, I arrive so that I can take pictures with a more subdued light.

On Thursday morning, when I was done shooting the nearly 200 shots of this long walkway boarded by gardens, I honed in on this hibiscus blossom. When I processed it, I did some things that I don’t usually do with my photos….I actually pulled the texture out of the flower’s center. More often than not, I can deal with an overall texture and tone of a photo but images that have a lot of white in them just vex me! I pulled way back on the midtone contrasts for this by darkening the image and I really liked the result.

Then I ran it through my electric process and the results just about knocked me over. Blown up on my monitor, it has a much more dramatic effect than the small version here.

Thing about this was, when I worked on it, I lightened it a lot more than I usually do….a reverse of the original….and the textures of the background popped out a lot more than usual.

What struck me about what I had created, though, was the explosion of a black hole… especially the spikes of green shooting out from the deep red in the center of the image.

The Heart of the Black Hole

The Heart of the Black Hole

Subscribe in a reader

One Response to “Hibiscus in Light and in Dark”

  1. wow, this does look cool
    and what as great job that sounds like

Leave a Reply

