This is for Angel…. ((but others can read it, too))

White Orchid - Detail

White Orchid - Detail

I met Angel 8 years ago. We met quite by accident one night when I was surfing the Internet looking for something/someone. Our first conversation is definitely one neither of us will ever forget though I’m not going to tell you about it….just think of a conversation you’ve had with an old friend that is etched in your memory bank and will never be transferred to another account. That is the conversation we had.

Emerging

Emerging

We have witnessed a great many things through each other over the years. We’ve become closer than many couples who have known each other for as long…perhaps longer…and Angel is someone who I entrust my life to. She has done an unbelievable job, through the years, of rescuing me from the depths of Hell or worse. While I can say that I have been there as much as I possibly can for her, I can also say that I have dropped the ball, as well, and that is not something I am very proud of. (When I have dropped the ball, it was through my own stupidity, of course, but I can honestly say that I have promised myself I won’t ever do that again.) Though I did “fail” her at one of her most dire times, she forgave me…and that is a true friend.

Cymbidium 4

Cymbidium 4

One night, when I just happened to looking into one of my 5 email accounts last February, there, at the top of the inbox, an instant message was blinking orange. It said “Angel” on it and when I opened it, as if I had been struck by lightning, my hope was lifted up unlike anything I had ever felt before! Was it really her? Was it that woman I had forsaken so many months before?

Blossoms with Blossoms

Blossoms with Blossoms

When she had forgiven me, what do you suppose she did? She gave all of her Love…and she has as much Love to give as the Sun has warming rays…to me when I was at the depths of my despair…when I thought the sun would never shine again. She filled me with a hope and a purpose to climb out of that hole I was in and look over the top. That pit I was in was pretty deep but her words of optimism with the insight of what can be, along with her dreams of a life that make believable an anticipation for moving forward without fear woke me out of my stupor.

Pink and White Cymbidium

Pink and White Cymbidium

After what I had done, she could have just as easily let me circle the drain and be swallowed up by whatever happens to be at the bottom of that drain!

But she didn’t.

It was as if what had happened had never happened. And that IS what a true friend is…someone who puts something negative from the past where it belongs. Despite her own circumstances, she gave me the energy that she didn’t herself have at the time…whatever reserves this unbelievable woman had, she gave to me selflessly, compassionately, and, above all, with the purest Love that one can imagine.

Orchid on the Tree of Life

Orchid on the Tree of Life

She gave me the power and the energy to look at the world through a different set of eyes and to appreciate what I have. What I have…what I physically possess…is nothing compared to what she means to me.

If there is nothing else Angel and I agree on, we agree that we are the soulmates we have always known ourselves to be, through the tests of will and whatever forces have ever tried to cast our Love asunder, through the timelessness of Eternity…

We are One.

Cathexis (early morning Iris)

Cathexis (early morning Iris)

A few months ago, Angel told me that she wanted to fill her walls with pictures of orchids…fill her house with the aroma and the beauty of orchids. While not all of the photographs here are of orchids, several are, anyway. The next time I can get into the orchid greenhouse at Denver Botanic Gardens, I’ll fill her walls with photographs of them since I can’t fill her house with their scent.

But what I can do, save for the few orchid photos I’ve got, is let her have every photograph I’ve ever taken of an emerging bloom, a blossom, the inner workings in all of their sexual power, the fading essence of the flowers’ intensity, and the seed head that will create the life force of the next bloom.

There is so much more I could say about Angel…but she knows what those things are and they don’t need to be voiced. I expect that whoever is reading this has some inkling of what I am talking about.

All of the words that are left unspoken live in a place we both know well and they sing each others’ praises each moment.

And if it doesn’t happen in this lifetime….

Gallardia and Sunflower, Kissing

Gallardia and Sunflower, Kissing

I KNOW we will meet, face to face, in the next one.

You see, in the 8 years we have been the Soulmates we know we are, we have never met…we have never had the opportunity to physically hold one another, to share, in person, the hopes, dreams, pitfalls, tribulations, and the soaring and ever-encompassing Love that we hold for one another.

But, I’ll tell you what…

Peony Blossom

Peony Blossom

I hope to God and Goddess that I don’t have to wait until our next lifetime!

Kiss of the Orchid

Kiss of the Orchid

For you, Angel, virtual orchids for your walls.

Subscribe in a reader

4 Responses to “This is for Angel…. ((but others can read it, too))”

  1. There’s so much tropical flavor in these flower photos. Great stuff. I love the photography! đŸ™‚

  2. beautiful pics! my favorite subject is flowers, super close up. I’m curious, what kind of camera do you use? i’m just using a cybershot at the moment—first experience with digital—but i’m reaping some decent shots so far. it’s a place to start!

  3. My dearest Sam… I cannot describe what you make me feel every day. This post has made me feel more honor than I’ve ever deserved. And your flowers… I see the world through your eyes, and it’s beautiful.

  4. Beautiful photos. And they go so well with your sweet story. The flowers, the story, you and angel all mesh so well together. One is not complete without the other,

Leave a Reply

