Musical Interlude II

Locust Tree Near Dawn

Locust Tree Near Dawn

Coming and Going 2 (Anemone biarmiensis)

Coming and Going 2 (Anemone biarmiensis)

Respite 2

Respite 2

Another trip to DBG…my weekly sojourn to chronicle certain installations. The top and second photo were shot in Plant Asia, the third in Wildflower Treasures. I’m not actually chronicling these 2 gardens, I just like them because they are curated by my mentor, Mark Fusco.

Here’s the musical interlude for you: a choice of Bruce Cockburn’s Last Night of the World or his End of All Rivers. The first is a studio cut, the second is a live one….don’t watch the second one for the video, listen to it for the music because the video is not very good. End of All Rivers, an instrumental, is probably my favorite Bruce song for its overlay upon overlay…..it really is easy to imagine a massive river flowing down and, perhaps, over a waterfall, then down into a soft flowing stream at the end of its course, then into the ocean. If you choose this one, simply open it in a separate window and listen to it…it really is an amazing piece of music. Last Night of the World is a vocal that I asked my friend, Paul, to learn for what turned out to be an inauspicious occasion that I won’t go into here (or ever). Another gorgeous piece, though this one features Bruce’s buttery voice. (OK, I weaseled another piece in here….love those links!…another studio cut… the beuatiful Pacing The Cage.)
So, listen and view some photos from my recent visit to the Gardens.

At Peace - Faded Bouquet Left Behind

At Peace - Faded Bouquet Left Behind

Clematis seed head - (2 exposure HDR)

Clematis seed head - (2 exposure HDR)

Dahlia at Dawn - HDR altered, 2 exposure photograph

Dahlia at Dawn - HDR altered, 2 exposure photograph

Grass - Seed Head (solarized)

Grass - Seed Head (solarized)

Gaining Strength

Gaining Strength

aka

Spreading the Infection

Spreading the Infection (2 exposure HDR)

And one last bee shot….I was shooting pictures in the main walk, Perennial Border, near the front gate at DBG. I came across this bee when I was shooting a closeup of a dahlia and I just stood there for a moment and waited for it to move out of position, assuming it would.
No, this bee, having drunk for all of its time, decided to simply fall asleep in a place that was nothing short of true bliss, one can only assume. If I were to die in a similar fashion, I would be hard-pressed to determine which flower bloom I’d want to die in, there are so many I truly enjoy…………I guess they’d just have to bury me with one massive bouquet so I can smell their aromas when I reach the afterlife. A nice thought…to enter my next life with all of the aromas I really love!
I expect that’s what happened with this one….drifting off and entering the next world in true bliss:

As Good A Place To Die As Any Other - Perhaps Better

As Good A Place To Die As Any Other - Perhaps Better

I hope you enjoyed the music. Have a wonderful day!

Subscribe in a reader

Leave a Reply

