Galen and Friends

Galen

Galen

A couple of weeks ago, I went back up to Timnath again and spent the bulk of the day with Ann. My intent was to take photographs of her horse, Galen, but the photographs turned out including so many other horses where Galen is boarded. I know virtually nothing about horses other than the fact that they are gorgeous creatures to photograph. I know a bit more now but I still have a lot to learn.

Galen and Ann

Galen and Ann

Ann explained Galen’s lineage but, for the life of me, I can’t remember all of the names and places his lineage runs back to, all I can tell you is that he has one impressive set of fathers, grandfathers, and great-grandfathers. (See Ann’s explanation in the comment to the post, below; for those of you who know horse lineage, I’m sure it would be as much of a treat to read as it was to hear her tell it!)

End of the Carrot

End of the Carrot

Upon arriving where Galen lives (for the time being), we brought him up to a spot where Ann could remove bandages from his hind legs, an injury he had had the previous week which left the bottoms of his legs raw from getting tangled in his lead rope. Watching Ann remove the bandages, wash them clean, apply a cleansing/soothing cream, then try to wrap them again was interesting, to say the least.
A friend helped try to keep Galen in place (not move skittishly) during this process by holding up a front leg opposite to the hind leg Ann was holding up. This proved to be a bit much for either of them, especially since Galen is a good-sized fellow at, I believe, 14 hands. In other words, he’s pretty big…even for 2 very experienced horsewomen to keep under control. When he moved, wincing I expect at his hooves getting messed with, these two women moved pretty fast, as did I. He was a bit more docile once the soothing salve was applied.

I See You Times Two

I See You Times Two

Salve applied, Galen spent the rest of the afternoon in a stall that kept him contained in order for his wounds to be less likely to get worse in the more open areas.
And on we went to see the rest of the horses.

Introductions

Introductions

I simply can’t remember what types of horses I met that afternoon, I just know I met some very personable and interesting new friends!

Hi

Hi

Many of the horses at Lynchland Stables are horses that the owner, Jackie Lynch, has rescued from auctions. These auctions are, basically, places where anyone can buy a horse…but most of which are not being saved for anything other than to be processed into something other than horses (I won’t explain that but you get my drift, I expect, by the way I put it). Frankly, spending the time I did with these noble creatures, I simply can’t think of what some folks would do to them…instead of letting them be who they are…and until their days are over!

I to I

I to I

This horse, a small sort that is Irish by lineage and used, classically for pulling small carts, is white with an orangey-cream color, and very friendly. At 6’2″, I towered over her. No matter, she came right over to the side of the stall she was in and wanted to get to know me.
As you can see here, I like taking pictures of horses’ eyes. Just as human eyes are expressive, so are horses’ eyes. I love looking into them and trying to imagine what they see from their perspective. Ann told me, of course, that horses don’t see in color but in shades of white, black, and grey tones.
Their range of vision starts about 3′ out in front of their bodies because of the way their eyes are situated, which also adds another dynamic…that off the blind spots they have and the reason for their need to turn their heads so far around to see what is happening back there behind them (one of the reasons you are told, when approaching a horse from the rear to tap its’ rear to let it know you are approaching). On the other hand, their range of vision is wider than any other being on the planet BECAUSE of the way their eyes are situated!

Tickle

Tickle

And they L-O-V-E to have their noses tickled and their bottom lips jiggled. Pretty funny to watch them react when Ann played with them!

Then we found ourselves over with a group of them and, frankly, I could have spent the whole rest of the afternoon over with these horses. All sorts of dynamics showed up which Ann had previously mentioned, most specifically WHO is in charge! And this guy definitely characterized this attribute:

Hey! I'm nuzzlin' here!

Hey! I'm nuzzlin' here!

However, he’s really just a sweetie at heart: Mr. Personality (not his real name)…..along with several other personalities who are just as cool and dynamic and friendly. They all have their own ways of getting into the action, whether they are right up front or laid back and simply taking it all in.

Who's the Stranger?

Who's the Stranger?

All Together

All Together

Me, too!

Me, too!

These horses, obviously, knew Ann. And I was someone they were just a bit unsure about. However, the vying-for-attention calmed down and we all settled into some nice getting-to-know-each-other. They had no problem with my rubbing their lower lips, scratching their ears, and generally enjoying their great beauty.

I watched as Ann rubbed this big guy’s lips and played with his nose….and then just treated him as if he was just a little puppy dog, nuzzling his nose and jowls. He simply could have fallen asleep right there in her arms as she kissed his nose. I think this is one of the best photos of the day. It is pretty much all right there!

Serenity

Serenity

That one pretty much says it all! These horses may be huge but when you get right down to it, they are just great big puppy dogs. Of course, rolling around on the carpet would prove to be a bit of a task! They love getting their love just like the rest of us.

So, I’m going to close here and just let you look at the rest of the photos. Some of them are reworkings of others, which, of course, you’ll figure out, but each reworking has its own “tone” (other than the tone shift).

Enjoy! (And don’t forget to click on an image to see a larger one!)

Paint

Paint

Almost Like Little Richard

Almost Like Little Richard

Mien

Mien

The Calming Effect

The Calming Effect

Hey Stranger

Hey Stranger

Munch!

Munch!

Galen and the Afternoon Sky

Galen and the Afternoon Sky

In the Old Corral

In the Old Corral

Subscribe in a reader

2 Responses to “Galen and Friends”

  1. Ann Hagaman Says:

    Hi Sam!
    I’m sure the horses will enjoy knowing how happy you were to be with them. Horses like that kind of feedback 🙂

    Galen is 17 and a half hands tall. A “hand” is four inches from an ancient measurement using the width of a man’s palm.

    Horses are measured from the ground to the withers-the point where their neck and back meet.

    What Galen’s height means is that sitting on his back is five feet 8 inches above terra firma.

    His hereitage is pretty special and with horses, that is a part of their story. Galen is a Hanoverian and Thoroughbred cross. Hanoverians are the great German jumping and dressage horses carefully bred and evaluated for temperment, trainability and athleticism and Thoroghbreds -frequently used as racehorses which originated in England in the 18th Century. Galen is a cross of two champion lines including Canada’s famous Northern Dancer and Germany’s Prinz Gaylord. Well that’s a mouthful for a big red “moose with a tail”. Ultimately, what it all means is that he is gentle, trainable and athletic with a bold heart and look of eagles. All things prized by horsemen. Even if his feet are the size of soup bowls.

    I can’t wait to tell him he is on the web along with his friends at Lynchland. Espcially the snuggly little bay who was destined for the dog food can before Jackie rescued him!

    Horses love that kind of thing.:)
    Thanks for sharing your wonderful photos!
    Ann

  2. ” Parting IS NOT such sweet sorrow ” — I don’t agree with
    history !!! Great memories of Galen … I really like your site with the ? star tracks, snowflakes or whatever !!!
    Love ‘n Prayers,Bill

Leave a Reply

