Recent Electrifications – Part 2

I’ve been going through old works looking for pieces to work on and thought I’d share what I’ve done.

I took this photo when my son and I were on vacation in Arizona in 2003. It was taken in the Saguaro National Park, west-southwest of Tucson. We stopped on the road because the sunlight was so dramatic on this one saguaro as well as the clouds above. The day was a rolling series of rain squalls that blew in from various directions. So here are the two pieces:

Saguaro and Storm

Saguaro and Storm

Radiant Saguaro - Before the Storm

Radiant Saguaro - Before the Storm

In November, 2006, I took a trip down to Santa Fe, NM, to see an old friend and his family, who had invited me down for the weekend….with the added tasty bit of seeing Bruce Cockburn live. I couldn’t resist but, also, I had never actually been in Santa Fe before and the invitation was just right for me. So I drove down there on a Friday and left 2 days later, unfortunately. Santa Fe was gorgeous and I look forward to returning there when I get a chance to, since my friends have moved back there after an hiatus to he West Coast.
On the road down there, I veered off at Walsenburg and took the “back way,” which took me through Taos, where I spent more time outside of town at the store that sells handmade ceremonial drums than in town, which I find a tourist trap filled with way too many people. South from there on State Hwy. 68, I stopped and took a few pictures of an abandoned farmhouse that caught my eye, near Rinconada, NM. (In truth, I have always wanted to do something with this photo and never have until about an hour ago….I just came across it while looking for others and said “well, there it is, still…….do something with it!”).
So, here are the two versions:

Abandoned Farmhouse Near Rinconado, NM

Abandoned Farmhouse Near Rinconada, NM

A Vision of Van Gogh Through the Window, Rinconada, NM

A Vision of Van Gogh Through the Window, Rinconada, NM

On the same trip and on Sunday morning before I left, I stepped out onto their patio quite early, perhaps and hour after sunrise. The light was rather nice with a subdued red-orange tint, more akin to sunset than early morning, I think. I took some interesting architectural shots since they lived in an adobe-like house. This one, however, has remained one of my favorites:

Hollyhocks After the Frost

Hollyhocks After the Frost

Hollyhocks at Dawn

Hollyhocks at Dawn

Earlier this year, a buddy down the street had a party in his backyard one evening in early April. He got a chiminea going and it got dark…folks thought i was a bit crazy taking photographs in the dark….”going get some really good ones, eh…no flash or nothin’?” Well, since I don’t usually work with a flash…yea, I was going to get some good ones.

Energu Pulse

Energy Pulse

Fireball

Fireball

Getting Out of Hell

Getting Out of Hell

The Disappearance of the Deep Blue Sea

The Disappearance of the Deep Blue Sea

And I’ll close with two I took today at the Botanic Gardens in my continuing quest to chronicle Ross’ gardens there.

Russian Hawthorne at the End of the Season

Russian Hawthorne at the End of the Season

Ornaments on a Dead Tree

Ornaments on a Dead Tree

This photo was shot with nearly no light in the room; the only light was a north-facing window, which was shaded by a couple of trees and had half-opened blinds on the window. It was shot in my friend, Mark’s, office at DBG:

Fork and Twig

Fork and Twig

Remains of Dessert and Tree

Remains of Dessert and Tree

Have an excellent weekend and enjoy yourself! I’ll be thinking of you while I make 40-gallon batches of soup!
All my best-
Sam

4 Responses to “Recent Electrifications – Part 2”

  1. Ann Hagaman Says:

    Sam,
    It was great to see you this afternoon and both Marshall and I enjoyed your company. Your photographs are always captivating. They are all favorite. You have a way of capturing and transforming the colors of the wind. Thanks again for a lovely visit.

    There is for sure, something memorable about trips to Santa Fe. Its just not somewhere you go and forget about it. Why is that?

    Forty gallons is a lot of soup. An awful lot.

    Thanks again, it was good to see you.

    Ann and Marshall

  2. gotta love the electrified saguaro and monsoon clouds…ah home

  3. Hi Sam,

    I am the owner of the website http://www.northernnewmexicoliving.com. I call it an internet newspaper whose content is limited to the towns, villages and people north of Santa Fe. Every week I am adding content to the site.

    In looking for content to add to the site about Rinconada, I saw the picture you took of the abandoned farmhouse near Rinconada. It pops up when I Googled images of Rinconada and would I would love to use it with your permission on the site. Full photographers credit would be given to you and I can embed a link back to your blog.

    I will actively be promoting this site locally, nationally and internationally in the next few weeks and expect to have quite a bit of traffic. This will create more visibility for your blog.

    I live up in the boonies, so if you want to talk via telephone, it would be best for me to call you since I can only get a signal in select spots.

    Cordially,
    Charlene Carroll

    914-699-2331
    c3@northernnewmexicoliving.com

    • sambissell Says:

      Hi, Charlene–

      Sorry it has taken a while to get back to you; I have been in and out of oral surgery and back in again, over the last couple of weeks.

      I have no problem in your sharing my photography on your site or in your online-newspaper. Many thanks for crediting me and adding links to my site, which I have looked through and am impressed by.
      I have friends who live in the Santa Fe area, who I visit from time to time and therefore shoot pictures while I’m in the area. In fact, when I visited them in November, I spent some time shooting (some of my better work of) the Pecos River, which I hope to have up on my blog soon. Your offer gives me incentive to get that project done, in fact!

      Please let me know when you plan on using my photo/s so I can spread the word, near and far.

      Thanks again for considering my work!
      All my best-
      Sam Bissell

      PS> BTW, I tried sending this to the email address you gave me but the email pinged back to me as undeliverable. Is there another email address you use?

Leave a Reply

