Old Works Renewed – California 2006

Above Giant's Rest

Above Giant's Rest

Yesterday, Christmas Day, I had some time to process a few photos, while my son spent some time with his Mom. It seemed a good thing to do on a day of relaxation….doing something that really relaxes me.

On Labor Day weekend in September 2006, my friend, Rene, and I flew out to CA for 10 days to work on my friends, Paul and Barb’s, place in Redway, in northern CA, near the Lost Coast and Avenue of the Giants. I’ve mentioned these places before in previous blogs but these are photos I haven’t uploaded yet. The photo above was taken a few feet from their front door at their place next to the Eel River, called Giant’s Rest. These trees are redwoods and rise up into the sky as far as one can see.

Through the Forest - Sinkyone

Through the Forest - Sinkyone

Sinkyone Wilderness State Park is not far from their place. We went there on Sunday of LD Weekend. It was a gorgeous drive and we were glad we had taken their Jeep, which made the road down the side of the mountainside that much easier. This scene was near the top.

As the Folk of the Forest Appear

As the Folk of the Forest Appear

Seeing to the Other Side

Seeing to the Other Side

After Rene and I had completed our garden remodel of Giant’s Rest and she had gone down to San Francisco¬† to attend Power to the Peaceful, Paul came up and spent a couple of days with me. We toured the Lost Coast and I took this photo near Cape Mendocino (this link is someone else’s trip log along Lost Coast and is worth taking a look at).

South Coast View from Lost Coast

South Coast View from Lost Coast

In a matter of moments, my world became a bit richer when I produced this solarization of the photo. I believe this is one of my more dynamic manipulations to date:

Brewing

Brewing

And its’ subsequent manipulation:

Rolling to the Sea

Rolling to the Sea

After going south to the Bay area again, Rene and I went down to Monterey to see a couple of my old friends, Marcia and Meg. One of my absolutely favorite places on the planet is Pt. Lobos, a place of magic and mysticism for me.

Point the Way

Point the Way

Advancing

Advancing

As They Creep Forward

As They Creep Forward

Moss in the Fog

Moss in the Fog

In the Murky Night

In the Murky Night

Tendrils

Tendrils

Creeping Into Dawn

Creeping Into Dawn

We also went down to spend a free day at Esalen since Rene had met a fellow who was a massage therapist there and had given her a day pass.

Vestiges of Another Time

Vestiges of Another Time

Marching Through

Marching Through

Mired

Mired

And to complete this journey:

Tree - Cliff - Fog

Tree - Cliff - Fog

At the Dawn of Time

At the Dawn of Time

Tree Above the Sea

Tree Above the Sea

Enjoy the rest of your holiday…I’m back to the salt mines of soup and more soup!

Subscribe in a reader

2 Responses to “Old Works Renewed – California 2006”

  1. I love these images! Thanks for sharing.

    Best,

  2. […] was taken one Sunday afternoon in 2006 when I was visiting my friend, Paul, when he was practicing with the jazz-fusion band he was […]

Leave a Reply

