A September Afternoon with Thee Immortals – California 2006

As I write this, I am listening to one of the most beautiful pieces of music I have ever heard. This is, of course, a personal preference that others may not appreciate….but, humor me and turn it up so you can listen to this single guitarist play his music while I show these “new pieces” to you.

This was taken one Sunday afternoon in 2006 when I was visiting my friend, Paul, when he was practicing with the jazz-fusion band he was playing bass for (they have since disbanded and he has moved on to a new band). I stepped outside for a breath of fresh air and found this nearby…

Sunday Afternoon Fence Post

Sunday Afternoon Fence Post

Just a fence post.
I hadn’t done anything with the photo until tonight…it sat in the archives as IMG_7385. And then this happened

Three-Way Intersection

Three-Way Intersection

It’s a “negative space” of the original. Well, you know me, don’t you?
I couldn’t leave well enough alone…hey! it’s what I do!

After Glow at the End of Time

After Glow at the End of Time

How’s that piece of music going? If it has ended for you, try this one, recorded much earlier than the last one…but the beauty of it and the enduring sense it evokes is no different.

Well, I went back to the original photo and made it “electric”:

Sentinels March Forward

Sentinels March Forward

……..and then……….

Partial Eclipse

Partial Eclipse

Yes, they are all a bit stark, aren’t they?

Inside, in the itty bitty practice room, they were jamming pretty good. I’m not going to show you the originals of these….just use your imagination. There’s plenty of that going around in these blogs I’m posting so just join in!

Gato sang and played both harp (harmonica) and sax….

Gato Plays All Night

Gato Plays All Night

Mike (Mud) played guitar….

King Wah

King Wah

and last but certainly not least….my buddy, Paul, who played (and still plays) bass:

Ghost With A Machine

Ghost With A Machine

After these  stark and spectral images, I leave you with this:

Stopping for a Drink

Stopping for a Drink

Have a good week………see you again soon!

Subscribe in a reader

2 Responses to “A September Afternoon with Thee Immortals – California 2006”

  1. Staffan H Says:

    Sam,

    The fence post creations you have made would do very nice posters!

    Moreover, I almost fell off the chair when I saw your images of the musicians! A musician plays his or her rendition of the piece, but this is – for all I know – the very first time I have seen a photographer’s rendition of what the musicians are playing. There are many photos of different bands and groups playing but they only show them playing – not what and how they are playing. Truly amazing!

    All my best,
    Your friend
    Staffan

  2. great blog, sam! i really l ike these photos! i love how you framed the circle bit of the fence around the post itself. i think my favorite is the actual photo (without the fx), but, then again, thats often that’s my personal preference 🙂

    great stuff!

Leave a Reply

