If You Lose a Recipe……….

Two years ago, almost to the day, I was in a used bookstore not far from my house. I came upon this

For the Use of Toast

For the Use of Toast

Being a former Chef, I must have been perusing the cookbook section, an area that can be quite injurious to my wallet. I simply DON’T NEED any more cookbooks! But small pamphlets like these are very telling of certain periods of time, especially those that came out in the 1920s through the 1940s. There are some absolute gems from then. Recently, I passed one such pamphlet on to a friend who was wondering about different ways to cook eggs; so I gave her 101 Egg Recipes. I think it must have been from WW II.
Anyway……………I felt the need to create this morning and this is what came of it:

Kingsford's Silver Gloss Starch

Kingsford's Silver Gloss Starch

Lost Recipes

Lost Recipes

….and recipes DO get lost.

Have a great day!

Subscribe in a reader

One Response to “If You Lose a Recipe……….”

  1. Staffan H Says:

    Similar pamphlets like the one with 101 Egg Recipes were printed here during WW II. I have a cookbook printed in 1942 with recipes adjusted to the fact that everything was rationed and a number of ingredients had disappeared from the market. I’m not sure that all suggestions were tasty or healthy. How about mayonnaise made on paraffin oil?

Leave a Reply

