April (Snow)showers Bring…

Undaunted Iris bucharica

Undaunted Iris bucharica

It snowed about 10 days ago….a typical late April storm…it was supposed to be a real dumper here in the city but it fizzled out. Instead, it pounded the mountains, foothills, and the plains east of town.
A couple of days before the storm hit, my Iris bucharica (Corn Leaf Iris, though I had to look this up since I’ve never called it that) bloomed. The before-storm pictures really don’t do justice to what this one displayed. I have several around the yard in various places; it is really one of my favorite plants that appear in Spring.

But I also like the combinations that happen with my Grape Hyacinth, which also have several prominent spots around the yard. Grape Hyacinth are pretty prolific, once they get going and “naturalize”.

Muscari neglectum and Nassella tenuissima

Muscari neglectum and Nassella tenuissima

Muscari neglectum, Grape Hyacinth, and Nassella tenuissima, Mexican Hair Grass,  mostly grow together on my cactus berm in the front yard. They are a terrific way to really show that Spring is in full swing in my yard.The Hyacinth do seem to pop up everywhere in my yard though, not just with the Mexican Hair Grass…but the two of them make a great show together.

Not surprisingly, a couple of days later when all of the snow was melted, the Red-Riding Hood Tulips started popping open. And my first “regular” Iris, though dwarf, appeared.

Red-Riding Hood Skips Through

Red-Riding Hood Skips Through

Dwarf Yellow Iris

Dwarf Yellow Iris

And the Dwarf Tulips have started blooming, too!

Dwarf Tulip

Dwarf Tulip

The abundance of Bearded Iris should start bursting forth in about the next week and last well into June. I have been amassing my Iris collection for about 4 years or so. I have collected them from garden jobs where they may have been “too many” in a yard or I have purchased propagated strains from a local hybridizer who sets up shop here in the Spring and Summer. When the big Iris start blooming, the yard becomes a rainbow of color!

And then there’s this:

First Tulip 2

First Tulip 2

Subscribe in a reader

Leave a Reply

