Galaxies, Upon Request

My friend, Catherine, asked “Wither is they?”
So, I respond, They is here:

Close-up of a Mentzilla (I don’t know a common name for it), taken down the street at my friend, Mark’s, house. I have mentioned Mark here a few times before; he is a curator at DBG. Recently, I submitted this photo for possible publication in a book of local photographers on Contemplative Photography (examples of which are here but aren’t local, just good examples that were used in a class I took at Working with Artists).

Galaxies, Waiting for Rebirth

Galaxies, Waiting for Rebirth

This photo was in a previous post but since it is a galaxy photo, here it is again:

The Center of the New Galaxy

The Center of the New Galaxy

An iris in my back yard, taken last month:

When Galaxies Collide - Rebirth

When Galaxies Collide - Rebirth

Same yard, same week, different flower. This is a peony blossom, ready to unfold. (Sadly, my peonies never had a chance this year and even though they opened up, it has rained so much that they never had a chance to actually stand up.)

Within - Galaxies Ready to Burst

Within - Galaxies Ready to Burst

Taken last week in the back yard, this photo contains a Star of Persia Allium (Allium albopilosum ) on the right, Mexican Hair Grass (Nassella tenuissima) on the left, and Virginia Creeper (Parthenocissus quinquefolia) in the background:

As Galaxies Form in Tandem

As Galaxies Form in Tandem

And that is the extent of my “Galaxies”.
However, since we are out in the Universe for this post, I should also include the “Nebulas” I have, as well, shouldn’t I? I’m not going to fill in the background data, though, so just enjoy these and wonder what their origins may have been.

Nebula on the Edge

Nebula on the Edge

Giving Birth at the Egg Nebula

Giving Birth at the Egg Nebula

The Jelly-Starfish Nebula

The Jelly-Starfish Nebula

The Athabasca Nebula

The Athabasca Nebula

New Star Emerging From The Athabasca Nebula

New Star Emerging From The Athabasca Nebula

Nebula 2

Nebula 2

I have a good deal of “star” photos and far too many to put in the post. So, I’ll just  complete that part of the series another time. Although, I DO like this one a great deal:

Rebirth of a Star

Rebirth of a Star

Thanks for stopping by for a tour of my Universe.
And I hope I answered my friend’s question.  🙂

Subscribe in a reader

4 Responses to “Galaxies, Upon Request”

  1. Staffan H Says:

    Thank you for the trip in Universe. I’m still excited! 😀

    All my best,
    Staffan

  2. Sam,
    Interesting stuff. Excellent work.
    Hope all is well.
    Best,
    Louis

  3. Very intriguing stuff. Can you tell me who are mentors/influences in your abstract work?
    Ron

    • sambissell Says:

      Actually, my mentors have little to do with the way I process my works. Many of them start out as one thing and become another. The various processes I use I haven’t found done by other photographers and so, continue to explore just what I can do.
      Sadly, I haven’t made a post here in nearly a year. It has been “one of those” years!

      That said, I find a great deal of overall inspiration from Edw. Weston, Ansel Adams, Brassai, Edw, Steichen, and Hunter Frost, among others.

Leave a Reply

