At Long Last: The Gardens at Jay Street

Dwarf Tulips

Dwarf Tulips

This post is going to be virtually nothing but pictures, I’ve decided. To be precise, pictures of my yard, close-ups of some of the plants, blooms, etc in both the front and back yards as well as shots of groupings. Many readers either haven’t been here to the house or, if they have, have not been by this year, for one reason or another.
I’ll name as many as I can; I do know most and many I know only by their botanical name, not their common name, and vice versa. I’ll always label them from front to back.
If you want to write back and identify ones I haven’t named, feel free and I’ll add a note to the photos. And don’t be surprised if I add a few “shifts”.
In any case: ENJOY!

Fading Dianthus Bloom - Spiderweb Cactus BloomFading Dianthus Bloom – Spiderweb Cactus Bloom
Variegated Sage - Spurge - Cholla - Sedum - Century YuccaVariegated Sage – Spurge* – Cholla Cactus – Sedum** – (CenturyPlant) Yucca
*Spurge is on the “A” List of Invasive Plants of the West; however, kept under control, it is a beautiful plant with a very interesting structure and bloom, which is bright yellow in late May/early June. When I got the variegated sage in the summer of 2005, it was a reclamation project and was only about 3″ across; it now measures about 3′ across and has a heavenly scent! The cholla was also a reclamation project from a neighbor; they were originally about a foot tall and are now range between 3-5′.
**Sedum comes in literally a 1000 different variations; I have about 6 or 8 on my property.

Onoethera - Blue Allium - Gallardia - Knifopfia - Santollina - Bee BalmOnoethera – Blue Allium – Gallardia – Kniphofia – Santolina – Bee Balm
The Santolina (Lanendar Cotton) was a reclamation project from 2005, as well, and was about a foot across when I planted it; it’s now about 4′ across. Onoethera (the yellow one in the foreground) is better known as Evening Primrose. [This photo is on the opposite side of the berm from next picture, hence, the Santolina.
Colorado Penstemon - Iris - Blue Allium - SantollinaColorado Penstemon – Iris – Blue Allium – Santolina

[Quick note: You’ll see lots of garden art in these photos. I’m BIG into garden art….things like old metal toys, lamp globes, formed and blown glass pieces, old iron stove parts, etc. Their structure add interest and curiosity to onlookers.]

Back yard 1 Colorado Penstemon on the right with several unidentified shoots around it, Bachelor Buttons on the left, chives, (waning) Allium globes, Kniphofia, Larkspur (tall, center, pink, blue, and purple), Sedum germanii (low, yellow bllom)…and moving towards the back are an unidentified Mint, Cercocarpus, water plant off to the right, Nassela (Mexican Hair Grass), 2 old root Roses, dying peonies (far left), Apache Plume.

Back yard 2I’m sitting under my Peach Tree, Pineleaf Penstemon (yellow, front right) with unknown grass next to it, what I thought was Lychnis but isn’t (surrounding the Iris), Dwarf Alberta Spruce, Saskatoon Serviceberry (3-stem tree near center), several giant Sunflowers (volunteers), more sedums.

Bees Like the YardBees like all the blues in the yard. This is a slightly out-of-focus Bachelor Button. (Man those guys move quickly from bloom to bloom!)

Blue Allium_Blue Allium. The flower head on this is about 4″.

Delosperma 1Delosperma and Gold-Tipped Juniper.

Inside the GateOn either side of the grass, which I think is Stipa, are a pair of Autumn Joy Sedums, one of which is variagated, several Sempervivums (aka Hens and Chicks), the yellow-green sedum on the right center is one of my favorites called Angelina….it (and all sedums) keep their green all year, changing in the Fall to another color: Angelina turns burnt orange and stays that way until Spring, several Sunflowers are pushing upward around the 1850s Goat Cart that I procured a few years ago.

Larkspur and Growing Ponderosa PineLarkspur and the meristem of a growing Ponderosa Pine, acquired from the curator of the Conifer Berm at DBG. The Ponderosa is probably about 7 years old or so and is about 4′ tall.

Johnson's Blue VisitorJohnson’s Blue Geranium with visitor.

Moving Across the Back YardJust about everything in this photo has been identified…I just happen to be looking in the opposite direction across the yard. The tree in the foreground is an Engelmann’s Spruce…at full height, this tree will generally grow to 30+’ but I will be dwarfing this and it’s cousin on the other side of the yard, the  yellow behind it is the Sedum germanii. Kinda looks a bit like a jungle, doesn’t it? Compare it to this one, taken in March:

Wednesday 3-25-09 -Backyard_Obviously, it was taken looking the opposite direction…but I came across this while looking for something else.  🙂 But it shows what a dramatic difference there is in the back yard between March and June.

(I’m adding these 2 the day after the original post. I figured I din’t have enough shots of the front yard in an overall perspective.) This what you see just outside the front door to the house:

Front Door 3The mass of green is Basket of Gold and is a profusion of gold when it all pops open in mid-May. The yucca behind it is Adam’s Needle, the large shrub at the back/middle is Russian Sage and next to it is…damn, I just forgot the name of it! and behind that is my favorite yarrow: Paprika…a deep red that turns red-orange.
Front Door 4As you can see the Basket of Gold spread pretty easily and goes wherever it wants (and this photo also shows you how little I have pulled my weeds and all of the Gold wannabes). This berm is probably my favorite because I never water it…it lives entirely on what Mother Nature feeds it. It is predominately cactus and succulents, grasses, iris, etc. The large green bush on the right is an Artemesia ‘Powis Castle’; it grows exponentially from year to year, even though I cut it back all of the way every Spring. It was about 10″ across when I planted it and is now well over 5′ wide.
Rabbitbrush etc
Around the corner is a Rabbitbrush, a native to Colorado that is most seen on the sides of highways in its most wild form; I got it from a friend as a reject at maybe a foot tall and is now well over 4′ tall and 5′ wide and will most likely fill the area in the back corner eventually because it is a voracious spreader, too. The large bushy grass on the left (behind the one with flowerheads) will eventually get about 6-7′ tall by mid-Fall and will stay there until I cut it back next Spring. It is an awesome spectacle when it blooms and just as wonderful when it is snowed on in Winter.
Shade cornerThere isn’t a whole lot of shade on the property but this corner on the north side is nicely populated with low-growing Lamium ‘White Nancy’ (the variagated leaves), some Lily of the Valley towards the back, a large section of Dragon’s Blood Sedum (with stems that turn burnt orange in the Fall, hence the name), and a nice Dahpne ‘Carole Mackie’ shrub.

Opening Rose with RaindropOpening old root Rose with raindrop.
I have this thing f0r raindrops. I’ll be doing a post on them soon. But here are a couple of more.
Sedum Raindrop_Autumn Joy Sedum and raindrop.
Saskatoon Serviceberry with RaindropSaskatoon Serviceberry with Raindrop.

Luck Be The LadyLuck Be The Lady.

Radiant Energy_Radiant Energy
Offspring of The Squid Nebula_Offspring of The Squid Nebula
Orange Lily_This Lily popped open today in the back yard. I have several lilies in both the front and back yards but although I planted them 3 or 4 years ago, this is the first time they have bloomed.
Homing Signal_Homing Signal (Dwarf Tulip).
The Welcoming Gaping Maw_The Welcoming and Gaping Maw (Iris blossom)

I hope you’ve enjoyed a fairly thorough trip through my yard. I missed a few spots but they’ll show up later. Still, you got a pretty good taste of it!

I’ll close with a serene photo that I like a great deal.

The Fallen_The Fallen (rose petal with Nasella).

Subscribe in a reader

2 Responses to “At Long Last: The Gardens at Jay Street”

  1. Staffan H Says:

    Thank you very much – I really enjoyed walking about in your garden.

    All my best,
    Staffan

  2. The details here is extremely informative. I have learned a lot of pointers.

Leave a Reply

