As Fall Approaches

DBG Pond and Changing Trees, 2005

These are photos I’ve taken through the years that reflect the oncoming colors that Autumn graces all of us with, in all of our different spots in the world. When I moved to Colorado many many years ago, I was told that there “aren’t any real colors, just lots of yellows.” Because I came from New England, where I grew up, and spent lots of time in Iowa and other parts of the Midwest during many of those same years, I was used to seeing a vast range of colors.

I didn’t think much of Colorado’s Autumn colors when I was in and out of college….I simply didn’t make note of it (if you can believe that!!). The more time I spent in the mountains, though, the more I came to realize… …..that most of the people who had told me that there were no colors here had, quite obviously, never been to Colorado! In fact, if you got right down to it, I think it would be safe to say that there are more colors out here than in New England. Of course, I haven’t been in New England in the Autumn since about 2000, technically, but Autumn hadn’t really kicked in at Labor Day; so, to be perfectly honest, I’d have to say it was sometime in the early-mid-’70s! And who knows if whatever hybrids have come along and filled the New England forests with every rainbow color!?

Included here are various photo styles I have used in the last few years:
I don’t explain the processes anymore, so….

………….just let them soak into you.

Sumac and Conifer, Deer Creek Canyon, CO, 2004

Approaching Storm, San Luis Valley, CO, 2006

Sunflower, Esalen Garden, Esalen Institute, CA, 2006

Fallen Leaf and Japanese Maple, DBG, 2008

In Her Backyard, I Wait, Timnath, CO, 2008

Before the Acorn Fell, Denver, CO, 2008

Rain Squall, Santa Fe, NM, 2006

Oatgrass at Sunset, Edgewater, CO, 2009

…….and, hopefully, before not too long, it will look like this (so we can get some much-needed moisture!!):

My place 4 days before Christmas, 2006

Subscribe in a reader

Leave a Reply

